It’s been a while….

Begining of May 08, I received a registered letter from the boys in blue a.k.a. PDRM (Polis DiRaja Malaysia) and as you all know, if one receives a letter from PDRM, it’s has to mean one thing, you’ve committed a traffic offense.

Yes I committed the cardinal sin of speeding way beyond the speed limit of 70km/h some where in Putrajaya. In fact based on the summons, I was speeding about 99km/h. And so I was caught. Fair enough. I have to pay for the speeding summons. I seriously hope the authorities revise the speed limit as 70km/h is oh so slooooooooooowwwwwwwwww !!!

But as you also know, we Malaysians have a gift. Yes a gift to appeal to the boys in blue to either reduce the speeding fine or better yet, to not charge us a single sen. Some of us are good at this appealing thingy and some of us aren’t and I am the latter. But when I read that the maximum speeding fine amount is RM300, I started to panic. RM300 is a lot of money you know…a lot of money. Heck with RM300, I could :-

  1. Buy some nice Hush Puppies casual shoes
  2. Buy an original Liverpool Football club team jersey
  3. Do some sound proofing on my car
  4. Get a pair of Oakley spectacles
  5. Or just put the money in a joint-account savings…

So, rather than paying RM300, I went to the nearest police station asked the police officer what should I do. The pretty woman police officer politely told me to write a simple letter of appeal and based on that letter they can reduce the speeding fine by half. Ok lah…paying RM150 isn’t that painful as paying RM300.

So I quickly rushed back home and started to write a letter of appeal. But then it struck me. It’s been quite a long time since I last wrote a letter in Bahasa Malaysia. I could write the letter of appeal in English, but then it wouldn’t be proper lah. So I sat there, in front of my computer, thinking what are the suitable words in Bahasa Malaysia and it took me two hour just to figure out the suitable words in Bahasa Malaysia. Yes two bloody hours and I ain’t sure whether the words used are suitable or the grammar is correct. Below is the letter….So how is it ? Boleh ke tidak ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Re : Rayuan menurnkan bayaran kompaun

Saya, Chin Khim Foh, KP XXXXX-XX-XXXX, yang pemandu kenderaan motor nombor pendaftran XXXX-9098, telah mendapat saman kesalahan jalanraya.

Saya ingin merayu kepada pihak tuan menurukan bayarn kompau seperti dicetak di dalam saman bernombor UUXXXXX

Di harap pihak tuan akan menimbang rayuan saya.

Sekian, Terima Kasih

3 thoughts on “It’s been a while….

  1. ::dx:: says:

    Dear Mr KF,

    The letter is good enough already, save some very minor errors on word choices..let me help you with what I know..

    The part where you wrote “..yang pemandu kenderaan motor..” – you should lose the “yang” and change “pemandu” to “pemilik”..so it becomes “…pemilik kenderaan motor…”. Heck, you can even use “kereta” instead of “kenderaan motor” I think?

    Apart from that, it’s perfect! Next time if you need any help constructing a letter in BM, I’m sure the fellow Savocians would be more than pleased to help! Cherios!

  2. khimfoh says:

    ::dx::,

    Thanks for your feedback ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. aizan91 says:

    Omigod.. hahahaha… sheeshh…

    No, I’m not laughing at you, I’m actually laughing at myself. My wrtten Malay is absolutely horrendous. It has been a very long while since I last written something formal in BM.

    Your written BM is so much better than mine =P

Leave a Reply

