Why can’t you be like….

“my brother who’s son is very close to him”….this was want my wife said to me when both of us were about to go to bed. You see my brother-in-law and his wife and his 3 year old son, who is by the way look so adorable spent the holiday over at his mother’s house. My wife notice that her nephew was particularly close with the father and so did I.

What irk me the most was what my wife said to me. she said…”What kind of ‘low kiap’ father are you”. “Low kiap” in hokkein kinda means not good. I took that as an insult really and honestly what she said to me was totally uncalled for. I told her I am different from that of her brother. I have my own ways of being close with my two kids. She then told me because of my fierce behavoiur towards my kids, both of them aren’t precisely close to me and rather be close to their mom. I’ve got no problem with that at all because I acknowledge that I have a very short temper. I can’t stand toddlers whining and crying and at times, I just burst out by shouting at them and believe me it is completely uncalled for me to do that.

I have never in my marriage told in front of my wife that she is a ‘low kiap’ mother. I know she will hold back her temper when the two munchkins get out of hand.

This is not the first time she told me that I am a ‘low kiap’ father – in fact many times she’s uttered that crude word to me. I guess I finally can’t hold it any longer and told her back that I don’t deserve to be called that crude word. I may not be at all the model father – which personally I don’t intend to be as I have to many flaws, but if she (my wife) thinks she can find a better father – then so be it. I’d gladly pass this position to someone else.

3 thoughts on “Why can’t you be like….

  1. 6darjah says:

    be cool, u are only having a short temper 🙂

  2. Aizan says:

    Well, someone has to be the disciplinarian in the family. If everyone’s so patient with the kids, they just might grow up to be spoilt brats. But that’s just my opinion.

    But, while I agree that it’s not fair to be called a low kiap dad just bcos u have a temper, I also know how failing time and time again to keep anger at bay jeapordizes relationships, as I also have anger management issues.

    I’ve mentioned it before, and I’ll say it again. It’s going to be a constant battle for us hot heads to keep our cool. But at the end of the day, it’s worth it.

    I can’t count the times when I am filled with regret because of the things that I’ve said and done out of anger.

  3. peeps says:

    aiya…nang buti nang..kui buti kui..hahahhaha..

    some father even worse..rape la..burn la..hit la..kick la…

    u ok what..dont worry la…

Leave a Reply

